ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent Skip to content

FOB Overrun Mechanic & Meta Adjustments

Wookie404Wookie404 Member Posts: 4 Civilian

I've been playing this game since December 2015 with a silly amount of hours, a few minor adjustments to make the FOB/match meta flow better. At this stage in the game development, I tried to think of adjustments that come down to tweaking variables over creating new mechanics.

1) The Overrun mechanic - original intent of this thing was to prevent the old spawn camping/meat grinder FOBs prior to it's implementation. However, the name of the mechanic doesn't mesh with what it does ..... right now two guys could be hiding on the other side of a wall or on top of a hill from a FOB defended by 10+ people and trigger an "overrun" which is just silly and makes it more necessary to spam the map with backup FOBs

Suggestion: Tweak the overrun mechanic to be on a "net basis" and not a "gross basis" .... basically make it a two factor check to where the enemy has to both outnumber the friendly players in the proximity radius as well as have the total needed for the overrun. It just seems silly right now that two guys could theoretically "overrun" 40 people.

Example:

Attacker has 9 players inside the radius.... Defender has 8 players. Overrun Triggered

Attacker has 8 players inside the radius..... Defender has 8 players. No Overrun Triggered

2) HAB Spam economy - This one is simple, the easiest way to reduce FOB spam is to increase the cost of the HAB considerably (hell I'd say 1000 construction)...... right now I can turn the match into a tower defense game and build 6 habs with one logi (silly). IMO, expanding the radius just leads to breaking smaller maps and getting SLs pissed off at each other for building in the wrong place. (If FOBs are buffed marginally via my first suggestion, this can be balanced by making it more difficult to build multiple via supply cost)