Sign in to follow this  
MusicNote

Idea: Different methods of rendering 3d scopes.

I'm not a programmer or anything so forgive me for my ignorance,but...would it be possible to give players different options when it comes to rendering 3d scopes?

I mean if a player has a high end GPU,instead of rendering the scene twice,a technique using supersampling (rendering the scene at a higher resolution than the monitor can display) and magnifiying the center of the screen could be used. Giving players the options of using old methods as you'd see in goldeneye,battlefield 2/3/4,and pretty much every other fps with a sniper scope would be nice too.

Changing the way the scope behaves could well alter the behaviour of a given weapon, so having alternate methods determined by the client could lead to a weapon being more effective than it otherwise "should" be. That said, I'm not sure how supersampling works or anything but it sounds cool on paper as long as the weapon behaves identically.

so having alternate methods determined by the client could lead to a weapon being more effective than it otherwise "should" be

I think all the OP was saying is this:

Under the Options / Video Settings menu, the player can choose one of the following that best suits his PC:

3D Scope

The more-expensive rendering method is used, which allows the game to actually simulate the zooming-in effect of the weapon scope. The player is able to enjoy the zooming magnification of the scope, but also has some peripheral vision because the region outside the scope is the unzoomed magnification.

Traditional Scope

For players with crappier PCs, this method is used. The game simply zooms up the camera to achieve the same magnification as the 3D Scope method, but the consequence is severely-impaired peripheral vision since the entire screen is at the same zoom level.

Both methods would have the same zoom level. It's just that players with bad PCs don't get to have very much peripheral vision.