Poita

Key config issues

I just bought Squad on Steam and have been putting it through its paces.

I usually like to push my keyboard to the left and use a cluster of keys around the arrow keys (which I use for movement). 

However, I'm having problems mapping actions to some keys. I use left ctrl to lean left and Keypad 0/ins to lean right but the game won't let me map the right lean to that key. 

I also mapped the weapons/items to the number keypad and that won't take either. 

Any thoughts?

it will be difficult at first but i STRONGLY recommend switching over to using asdw for moving. that will solve your problem

No, I've been using the arrow keys for over twenty years. 

Are you saying they key configs dont work?

I've the same problem mate, just 2 day ago i've posted and Royawesome, a DEV, have answer me that the arrow key are linked to the turning movement and he know that is an issue.So in the near future we will be able to use the arrow key. Untill then you can change the confing on the cinfig.ini file or use the wasd for a little time.

I trust on them, we can only give them some time to work.

Here is the answer http://forums.joinsquad.com/topic/7436-closed-alpha-version-3/?p=126898

This was fixed in 3.5.  Is it still happening?

No problem with Arrow Keys as far as I know. The issue seems to be that the game is holding on to the old .ini files however. We had to manually delete two.

steamapps\common\squad\squad\config\Defaultinput.iniC:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Squad\Saved\Config\WindowsNoEditor\Input.ini

Re-binding numpad keys however, at least num-0, does not work still it seems.

On yesterday i had the same problem.

In the afternoon i will try the guide that unfrail have posted and i'll report the results. Btw thank ufrail ^_^

Edit: wich .ini file i must delete unfrail?

Havent checked since the last update but i also use arrow keys for movement, \Steam\SteamApps\common\Squad\Squad\Config, file you looking for is DefaultInput.ini