MWard

New guy..Monitor and GPU question

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to PC gaming and fairly recently bought a second hand rig. I've got two questions that I have googled and googled and only ended up crosseyed at the end.

First, here are my current specs

Intel Xeon W3530 2.8 ghz

8 gb DDR3 

Radeon Sapphire 6950 2gb GPU

I am currently using a small tv as a monitor but have been looking at getting the BenQ RL2455HM monitor. It seems like a good little monitor for 60hz and it's currently on sale where I live (About $220 Cdn.) I've read that if you're looking to buy a monitor for gaming, and specifically for FPS's, you should really be looking at 120 Hz or 144Hz. In those same articles they do say that anything over 60Hz isn't really going to do you any better if your GPU can only pump out 60fps (which is a stretch on most games for my poor little computer.) I do want to build my own unit from scratch, but that's not going to happen tomorrow.

So, my questions are:

Is the BenQ a decent monitor for my current setup?

Would I (or even could I) be better of to upgrade my GPU without upgrading my CPU (the processor I currently have is an old socket type so my plan is to avoid putting that off til I can build an entire rig) and also get a 120Hz monitor? 

Sorry for all the new guy questions! I'll likely have more questions as others are answered!

As far as I know the BenQ monitors are pretty decent, my brother got one not so long ago and has similar specs to that of your current rig and hasn't had any complaints, but I cant speak from personal experience.

I would just upgrade the GPU for now if I were you as this can be more easily transfered over to a new rig and is more important as far as gaming is concerned than the CPU.

Hope this helps

Welcome CanuckFF!

Hopefully I can help answer some of your questions.