I've been playing PR for since 2010, always getting pulled back to the game..

After confusing everyone around me by stabbing an enemy FOB's radio repeatedly to no result I realised it might've been too long, so yeah I bought the game.

I would appreciate it if some of you (especially PR vets) could answer..

1. PR walked on a fine line between immersion (realism) and fun. How does it compare to squad on that scale?

2. Does squad intend to be anything more than a spiritual successor? What am I to expectfor the first time playing, differently than a round of PR?

Posted (edited)

Squad is not comparable to PR. You will find that the game is extremely fast with barely any room to breathe or formulate a strategy, the mechanics are much more forgiving and in many aspects illogical, the gunplay is easier and simplified - every engagement is over in seconds. The fights are condensed into much smaller areas thanks to the spawning mechanics, so you will pretty much spawn right into combat most of the time. The sounds are good, however. You will feel like you are on a real battlefield, right until the moment when people around you start cheesing the many exploitable mechanics to get an advantage, then the immersion is gone again. 

What OWI intend with Squad is a subject of many debates, honestly nobody really knows and all you'll get from devs is vague. What you definitely should expect to find in your first round is a bunch of casual players whom are bound to play the game like it was Battlefield, with nary a tactical thought in their head, no notion of teamwork unless it benefits themselves. You'll spawn, you'll run, you'll gun, rinse and repeat. Don't expect much in terms of cooperation with other players, other than you will all run in the same direction before you get slaughtered.

As a PR vet talking to another PR vet I can wholeheartedly give Squad my personal Seal of Disapproval (trademark pending) 

Edited by MultiSquid

55 minutes ago, MultiSquid said: