Right now the holding shift function to stay in first gear isnt really working out.

when you head up a hill already with some speed you are unable to switch to first gear.

you need to stop in order to go to first gear.

i'd say just give the full function to switch between gears.

Try letting go of W, then tap, repeat as needed to down shift. I fooled with this in a match and it seemed to work without needing to stop. Although, I still think there needs to be some work in the torque values in 1st and 2nd gear, as there's not enough power to pull you out of a ditch and small incline. 

Let me know if the W tap and release works to drop gears. It could have been a fluke during the one match I was driving a LOGI, would be good to confirm. 

I'm loosely part of the Irish driving instructor community as i have been training to be one, and while i'm not a mechanic i do know a good bit about how vehicles feel and drive and operate. Driving instructors would agree that second gear is a superpower, even the smallest engines can make a steep hill trivial in 2nd. I'm guessing a 2.5 tonne truck could easily spin it's wheels in 2nd with a full load. 1st is slow but massively strong, its used for only 2 things, taking off, and moving the earth under the wheels with little resistance. But second is the one that you rely on for turning corners, roundabouts, and it has excellent balance between speed and maneuverability. I'm guessing 2nd, is what you would use to get over a significant obstacle in reality. See if i have to make a square turn efficiently?, i have to slow down to where a speed in 2nd is comfortable...not because i'm trying to do a racing turn around the bend at speed, but because its not reasonable for me to expect i can turn the wheel fully for a square turn in the time expected.