Sign in to follow this  
Elvin

No optics/periscope on non-russian APC/IFV

With the release of Warrior for the British and Bradley for the US I have been missing a vital piece of equipment and that is the commander's/driver's periscope. As if the driver's role wasn't already "boring" enough. I still enjoy it but let's be real here, sitting in a steel box with a restricted vision for the duration of the whole match is not the most pleasurable gaming experience. As a driver, I can't see anything nor I can do anything when we stop and wait in an ambush position or just covering infantry's advancement. Sometimes I am forced to go out of the vehicle and use my SL binoculars to help my gunner cover the side and increase our spotting capabilities.

Is the addition of periscopes/any vision improvement for the mentioned vehicles (+ Stryker) something the devs are working on? I know that in Alpha 10 the Russian BTR-80 and BTR-82A received periscopes as the F3 seat. Is something similar planned for the BLUFOR counterparts?

A10 excerpt: 

• BTR-80 and 82A variants now have a "Commander Periscope" (and thus an extra seat) like the BRDM-2 has. The goal is to one day roll this into the driver position, however for now there is an extra asset for the vehicle.)

From memory the reason that the Bradley and Warrior don't have a commander is because there's an issue with stacking turrets on turrets that needs to be resolved with a slight system rewrite.

The vehicle system has a few issues like this. For example, you cannot zero the sights on a 50. cal because of the system limitations. Hopefully we'll see these things fixed in the near future as MBTs are released but that's just a hope.

Alright, good to know that further improvements are planned for the future and the current status of BLUFOR vehicles is not the final version.