I'm sticking this thread here under the Ideas for Crowdfunding sub forum since there isn't a separate Community sub forum yet.

I'm basically reserving this thread for ideas and advice on creating a Squad map based off of Kobani, Syria.

The recent unrest has really brought this city to my attention and I think it would provide a great backdrop for an primarily urban map in Squad. I have zero experience with UE4 so this will be one big learning experience for myself. I hope to maintain the desire to make it and deliver a finished map to the community.

Some info on Kobani:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Koban%C3%AE

Kobanî (Kurdish: ‎‎ كۆبانی  pronounced [koˈbaːniː], also rendered Kobanê  [koˈbaːne]), also known as Ayn al-Arab (Arabicعين العرب‎  North Levantine pronunciation: [ʕeːn elˈʕɑrɑb]), is a city in the Aleppo Governorate in northernSyria, lying immediately south of the border with Turkey. As a consequence of the Syrian Civil War, the city has been under control of the Kurdish YPG militia since 2012. In 2014, it was unofficially declared to be the administrative center of the Kobanî Canton of Rojava.

From September 2014 to January 2015 the city was under siege by Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant. Most of the city was destroyed and most of the population fled to Turkey.[2] In 2015 many returned and reconstruction began.

Prior to the Syrian Civil War, Kobanî was recorded as having a population of close to 45,000.[3] The majority of inhabitants were Kurds, with ArabTurkmen, and Armenian minorities.[4]

June 2015 massacres[edit]