Sign in to follow this  
Devil_Inside

Rework "Focus" mode

I'm new at this game, but I have played a lot of other realistic games before, such as Arma and RedOrchestra series.

Squad feels like a really great game, but the game's "Focus" mechanics really bothers me, and I feel like there is so much potential to improve the game by changing just this one thing.

1. Zoom. I know there is a group of people that refuse to understand the real purpose of zoom because "bionic eye". I'm part of the group that feels that zoom is essential to present the game in a realistic way. It is essential to be able to properly assess distances and engage in combat. Squad offers so much potential with it's large viewing distances, please don't undermine it with poor zoom implementation. Right now there seems to be 2 problems with zoom:

1.  It feels that the game doesn't zoom-in enough. Whatever your FOV slider in the game is, whenever you "focus", your FOV should change so that a person at 100m on your screen is the same size as a person at 100m in real life. This will allow you to notice and engage enemies at the right time, as well as properly assess distances and correct for target distance and target speed.
  2. Zoom shouldn't be time limited. The game shouldn't zoom-out when you run out of breath, because zooming-in isn't "focusing your eyes to see better", it's "looking at the world at a realistic scale". It should not be linked to breathing. It is extremely annoying right now.