oTec

Squad lead

In my last 12 hours of gametime (out of a 40hr total), i've been squad leading.

I'm still fairly new to the game, but with the recent sales, the large influx of new players always forces me into this position.

Evry game i join, whenever i join a squad, i ask the lead what class he needs/what our obj is.

8/10 times, they ask who wants to be squad leader since they don't want it or got promoted when the original leader left.

After a while i started saying no to leading, but this only seems to make matters worse.

Squad leaders who forget to place rallies, don't understand where to place them, can't build good FOB's etc.

So now i'm leading again, even though i'm not much of a fireteam leader. I can communicate, place rallies in good places and build fob's, but in direct combat i simply lack the experience to coordinate more then myself.

I don't know if i should continue to play squad leader or just leave it.

In the last 10 games, never won a round but one.

Only time i won, i was alone in my squad

Edited by oTec

I had the same problem when I first got the game. When you are a new squad lead one of the easiest and the most important is to sit on the defense cap. From there you can coordinate with other SLs and support them through spawns, mortars, and repair and rearm stations. Plus it’s fairly easy to place members of the squad at chokepoints and it will teach you an idea of  organizing squad members. Good luck!

and don’t be worried about being shit everybody’s starts that way and it sounds like you are already trying to understand coordination in the squad so you sound good to me. Keep picking up squad lead you’ll get better it just takes practice.

Edited by CorsairAc3

There's no perfect time to learn SL'ing more are you ready to take on the hardest role in the game.  I know some awesome FPS players that truly suck at SL and SL's that suck at being an FPS player.  

• As squad lead you have a mic and can/want to communicate