Jimmyhilluk

Ping increase on activity

Posted (edited)

So I'm not technically minded or anything, but my PC was fairly up to scratch about a year or two ago, can post up specs if required (can't remember off the top of my head). 

But I'm getting god awful ping spikes (200+) and frame rate drops to zero whenever something graphically intensive happens, like incoming rounds, spawning in and vehicles moving. But is fine in every other situation (ping kicking around the 20s).

Have had this happening with Arma lately but not as bad, so I'm thinking 

Any thoughts?

Edited by Jimmyhilluk

Hello and welcome to Squad @Jimmyhilluk,

19 minutes ago, Jimmyhilluk said:

[...] I'm getting god awful ping spikes (200+) and frame rate drops to zero [...]

yep, your PC specs and some more info would be useful.

how are you connected to the router? (wifi or cable)
since when do you own Squad? since when do you have this problem?

Okay, so on further inspection, I found that my disc was maxing out all the time. Made a checklist the length of my arm of possible fixes for it, and fixed it. 

Still hasn't stopped the drops, but have found that the CPU usage drops to zero and drive maxes out again during these spikes.

A friend recommended updating my BIOS, so I could have a crack at that when I get in this evening if it's worth it?

They refused to use pak archives(it's just raw game assets) and now it's 20000+ files again. To stop FPS drops down to 0 when something happens, defragment by name(using O&O Defrag, for example) your Windows drive, drive where Squad is, and make sure that your page files aren't fragmented as well. I put my page file on the same drive with Squad, this way page file is physically closer to Squad, so actuator arm makes smaller moves when it needs to access page file.

Here's how my drive looks like few days after I defragmented drive where Squad and page file is:

6TFPs1Z.png