Feli06

No workarounds for AMD users?

Hey there,

I just got myself a new AMD Sapphire RX480 since I haven't found any bad reports on the forums about this card, and so I thought all the AMD trouble had been resolved already. Trying Squad with the new card installed, it now seems the trouble is being caused by my processor, which is an AMD FX8350 8x4,00GHz

I'm wondering, after having to dig quite deep to find guides like this, are there any useful workarounds for the AMD desaster that is going on right now? Ingame, as long as I'm moving, i get 20-40 fps, regardless of the graphic settings being on LOW or ULTRA. Whenever I'm standing still, it drops down to 0,5-5 fps.

Also, can anyone confirm this is a CPU issue, otherwise I could still use the opportunity to send my new AMD GPU back and replace it for a Nvidia.

As a PR veteran I'm very excited to play Squad! ;)

Thanks in advance for any useful tips!

Are your window power settings on High,
do you have any razer software installed
did you try setting audio quality to low.
Yes its your CPU, your GPU is fine and not a bottleneck. (but check the above first)

13 hours ago, SuicidalChair said:

Are your window power settings on High,
do you have any razer software installed
did you try setting audio quality to low.
Yes its your CPU, your GPU is fine and not a bottleneck. (but check the above first)

No, I don't use any razer gear. audio settings was one of the first settings i read about setting them to LOW would help, unfortunately it didnt. I also lowered the MaxChannels=32 or 64 which didn't do the trick.

Good idea with the power settings I've tried that now, without any better results.

I should note that on the testing range it get around 150fps - as soon as i go online, its the same story: around 30-40fps whenever im moving, then back to 0,5-5fps when standing still.