Sign in to follow this  
Ghaztehschmexeh

Eastern European vehicle prop Input

Hey everyone! I'm currently in the process of starting some Eastern European/Russian civilian vehicle props. Now I have not visited this part of the world (although I hope to in the near future), and for the sake of authenticity I thought I'd reach out for some input on common vehicles seen in this part of the world. Of course I tried looking around google maps but I am no car expert so I couldn't tell what was what!

Help would be appreciated, it'll help me keep these props authentic. A mixture of modern/older cars would be great.

Cheers guys!

I believe that the AvtoVAZ Lada is commonly found in most former soviet countries due to around 20 million of them being produced from the 1980's to 2010. Anybody feel free to correct me if i'm wrong though.

Lada_2107_aka_Lada_Riva_October_1995_145

hdtshtygljwxdn5fpn3p.jpg

There are various different models, although i don't know any of the specifics

2 minutes ago, trotskygrad said:

what era are we talking about? or do you want to wind back the clock for "authenticity"?

Authentic modern. Vehicles like the Lada are great for smattering around and having in more rural areas, however I think most vehicles in more urban areas are more modern.

Let's take on a statistical approach :) for the Russian market. 

infografika-statistika-avtoparka-rossii-

Out of the most transacted (old and new) vehicles are:

Image.png

While most transacted new vehicles are:

Image.png

I'm not sure how many you want to tackle, but speaking for my city (St. Pete) if you tackle the last chart you'd get a fairly representative middle picture. 

Edited by BTR

Hmm, I guess it depends on where in Eastern Europe but if it's something generic or even just generally leaning towards Russia you could go for manufacturers like:

Lada - VAZ-2107/5/4 if you want something old.

Skoda Octavia - First Generation

Skoda Felicia & Favorit

Skoda Fabia - First Generation