OldRavenNL

The big Tank and Apc thread

I could not find a thread for tankers, so hope you don't mind making one here.

Squad development looks great..   and going so fast atm! 

Being a big tank nut I would like to suggest to please add proper tanks and apc's.

So what is in my opinion proper tank implementation.

There are only three titles that did it right, so use them as an example! (Steel Beasts Pro, RO2, T34 vs Tiger)

I'm a Steel Beasts Pro player and that should basically be the aim for proper tank implementation. no need to make it a sim like DCS

-make it possible to control a tank solo AND multicrewable. (if that is even a word) and for those screaming that you should not be able to solo a tank..

It's not like the tanks in battlefield..  where you are basically a sniper on tracks driving around the battle field.

Soloing a tank gives you a disadvantage as you have to move from one position to the other..  so a multi head crew is always more effective. (if they communicate at all)

I suggest looking at how they implemented the controls in RO2..  because that is basicly how I would implement a tank.

Have at least the turret interiour, as this is the place you will spend most if your time (the office) , popping your head in and out of the cupola .. when turned out able to use bino's (but vulnarable to snipers etc).

And when turned in and looking through periscope you have very limited view.

Don't do instant switching from seat to seat..  just do it like in RO2..  there's a delay (or animation when moving from commander to gunner seat) so you are not able to just use a tank as a sniper and spam the battlefield.

The problem when you force people to use multiple people in a tank is that you always have to get people online you play with.

Believe me..  controlling a tank with people who do not communicate is a nightmare.

And a tank is a large vulnerable object with all those infantry with rpg's.