Heskey

Community Elitism - Lowering The Tone

Hi all,

Some of you may know me from over the last 7 years since PR 0.5 when I started playing the mod and I'll hedge my bets that a lot won't, thanks to an influx of fresh interest and new players that Squad has undoubtedly generated - It's great to see you all, as much as it's great to see some fellow clingers-on of PR still keeping this amazing genre alive and worth continued development. My thanks to the DEVs for creating this whilst not abandoning PR.

I last checked in on Squad in mid-January but with the recent appearance of a Jackfrags gameplay video on YouTube showcasing impressive progress in such a short space of time I thought I'd drop by the forums and see what's new. It lead me to see the PR 1.3 feature video, which was nice; seeing as how watching Jack's video has made me decide to take a break from my other games and boot PR back up again once I return from my weekend away (I'll see you on the battlefield)!

I'm glad to see this game going from strength to strength, but after just a short stint of browsing the forum I'm sensing an undercurrent of unpleasant elitism towards a new player base as well as the comparisons they draw and the suggestions they bring, in a similar vein to the threads when PR 1.1 was set to release and instead of embracing the inevitable influx of new players to take under our wings and show the ropes to in the same way we would have been as new players, people made noise like it was the end of days, or going to be a tactical disaster like that hilarious video from Muttrah v1 when the new helicopter mechanics were added in, all over again - there was talk of locked squads and the like. An "us and them" mentality, if you will.