unfrail

Ethical Admin Server Certification.

TL:DR. Good communities last a long time, and they grow.

We want this game to be a place to work together and make friends and have a damn good time for everyone.

A certification by OWI that would flag established and compliant servers as "ethically administered" would help newbs not get trolled and turned off by perchance joining a bad server.

I think it's a good idea but as a server admin myself and a member of a clan that has established rules, I will testify that said rules are often interpreted differently by both fellow admins and players. Admins will interpret rules differently and treat players according to their understanding. The same goes for players. At some point in time admins and players will butt heads. Admins will take action. Who will judge whether a said action was ethical or warranted?

If there are only a dozen or so servers with this certification, it might work. But if there were hundreds, it could be an administration nightmare for the developer.

1). Legitimate ban's based on server rules. IE No racism, hacking, harassment etc. Not just banning because server admin is losing or mad that he isn't doing well.

2). Hold's admins, regulars and new players to the same standards

Honestly that's really all I look for. An "Ethical" admin is one who is about keeping the game fun for everyone and protects the players and server according to their set of rules. I personally dole out more warnings then ban's because I give everyone a chance to correct their actions.

But I also think this could become a bureaucratic nightmare to keep track of lol

I think it's a good idea but as a server admin myself and a member of a clan that has established rules, I will testify that said rules are often interpreted differently by both fellow admins and players. Admins will interpret rules differently and treat players according to their understanding. The same goes for players.