Jump to content

Gatzby

Admin
  • Content count

    1,099
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Gatzby

  • Rank
    Community Manager

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
  • Interests
    Gaming, coffee roasting, reading, fishing, guitar, punk rock, raw denim, and anything that's shiny enough to catch my eye for a couple hours.

Contact Methods

  • Website URL
    https://twitter.com/gatzby_
  1. Hey, squaddies! The weekend is near! You’ve survived another long one… why not relax with a little Squad? Whether you’re looking for some playtime, or just tuning in for some Rivals, the Roundup has your back! FEBRUARY 20 5:30 PM PT (0130 UTC, 21/2) Squad Ops: SOTT Basic FEBRUARY 22 12:00 PM PT (2000 UTC) Project Awesome: Royalty Combat 6:00 PM PT (0200 UTC, 23/2) Rivals: Spectre vs FaT 11:30 PM PT (0730 UTC, 23/2) Rivals: RB vs SQD On this day in 1732, a notable hater of cherry trees, George Washington was born. He later went on to enjoy boating. FEBRUARY 23 1:00 AM PT (0900 UTC) Rivals: 1BJ vs ULD 10:00 AM PT (1800 UTC) Rivals: ProG vs BLUFOR 10:15 AM PT (1815 UTC) Rivals: Rogue vs IL 10:30 AM PT (1830 UTC) Rivals: NW vs TLR 11:30 AM PT (1930 UTC) Rivals: P2 vs HSR SIGNOFF Enjoy your weekend, folks! Submit your event to see it featured here! OFFWORLD OUT.
  2. How do i find Server?

    Gonna lock this one off since you're all set. =) Sorry for the confusion!
  3. Hey, squaddies! Love is in the air and you know what that means… GET YOUR GAS MASK ON, SOLDIER! You don’t want that in your lungs. Whether your partner has a ring or a chevron, we’ve got some weekend action for you! FEBRUARY 14 ALL DAY Dodging arrows, waiting for cheap candy, playing Squad. (We love you, bae.) FEBRUARY 15 12:00 PM PT (2000 UTC) Project Awesome: Operation Red Turtle Down 2:30 PM PT (2230 UTC) Squad Ops: SOTT Basic 5:30 PM PT (0130 UTC, 15/2) Squad Ops: Operation Wicked Bridges FEBRUARY 16 12:30 AM PT (0830 UTC) Rivals: SPECTRE vs ULD 10:00 AM PT (1800 UTC) Rivals: Split vs ProG 10:00 AM PT (1800 UTC) Rivals: IL vs SRG 10:15 AM PT (1815 UTC) Rivals: NW vs Rogue 11:00 AM PT (1900 UTC) Rivals: TLR vs BLUFOR 11:00 AM PT (1900 UTC) Rivals: SQD vs HSR 11:00 AM PT (1900 UTC) [RIP] Rusty in Places vs. The World 11:30 AM PT (1930 UTC) Rivals: 1BJ vs FaT 11:30 AM PT (1930 UTC) Rivals: P2 vs RB SIGNOFF Good luck to everyone this weekend! We’ll see you on the flipside. Would you like to see your event here? Let us know. OFFWORLD OUT.
  4. It sounds like there might be something up, so I'd like to have you folks reach out to support@joinsquad.com -- they can help, and it'll help them track the issue in case there's a bug that needs smashed. Sorry for the inconvenience!
  5. Mmm, not really. All this is saying is that games built from this point forward can have access to that technology. It's possible some games may be able to make it backwards compatible, but it's never as simple as flipping a switch. There are art, sound, gameplay, physics, and pretty much all parts of the game to take into account. Ultimately, though, it may boil down to performance: what's possible in a tech demo isn't always possible with 80-100 players that all need to be seeing the same thing, at the same time, to play a fair game.
  6. Hey, squaddies! Welcome to February! The Pluto of months. Oh sure, it’s trying with the whole Leap Day thing, but we all know it’s barely a month. Still, that’s no reason not to pack it full of Squad. Let’s kick it off with a special call to arms from the Aussie Mod Team! We know it’s rather difficult to read a clock upsidedown, here’s a helpful link to find it in every timezone. You can also join their Discord for updates! FEBRUARY 6 5:30 PM PT (0130 UTC, 7/2) Squad Ops: SOTT Basic FEBRUARY 7 4:00 PM PT (MIDNIGHT UTC, 8/2) Midnight Interactive: Aussie Mod Playtest The first untethered spacewalk took place in 1984. 5:30 PM PT (0130 UTC, 8/2) Squad Ops: Regular Event In 1944, the Germans launch a counterattack against the Allied beachhead near Anzio, Italy. FEBRUARY 8 12:00 PM PT (2000 UTC) Armoured Warfare One Life Event 11:00 AM PT (1900 UTC) [RIP] Rusty in Places vs. The World 2:30 PM PT (2230 UTC) Squad Ops: SOTT Basic Famous French novelist Jules Verne was born on this day in 1828. FEBRUARY 9 12:30 PM PT (2030 UTC) Squad Ops: SOTT Basic SIGNOFF We’re going to be over here practicing our Australian accents. Digeridoo! Fosters! Would you like to see your event here? Let us know. OFFWORLD OUT.
  7. New Commander on Duty!

    Hey squaddies! We’re fresh into a new year and that means it’s time to take a look ahead at what that means for Squad! First and foremost, we’d like to introduce you to our new producer: Arnaud Lebesnerais. Arnaud has been with us for a little bit now and has been quietly kicking our butts back into gear, so we figured it was high time you got to know him as well. Oh, and don’t worry, your beloved UAV/Producer Phil is on-station. Greetings Squaddies! My name is Arnaud “Arno” Lebesnerais, Producer on Squad. While I may be new to OWI, I come from a background of games ranging from FIFA, Need For Speed, Dawn of War, Space Marine, all the way over to Company of Heroes. Which, of course, brings us to Squad. Well, why am I here? The reason for me joining the group is simple: OWI is expanding and Phil is getting into a bigger role! While still overseeing Squad, he is taking on a more strategic role within the organization and he needed to get someone to lead Squad’s development. We are both working closely to get Squad into its next phase so rest assured that you are all still in the same good hands as ever. I have always been an FPS fan, but our industry is still producing too many samey games and Squad is only one of the few pushing boundaries. So I can truly say it is an honor to join the Squad Community! I’ve been busy getting up to speed on the last year of Squad, which saw a lot of updates: entering Beta, the initial release of Commander, helicopters took flight, the Canadian Armed Forces joined the fray, the first batch of tutorials was released, and we even saw Territory Control, all the way back in… *checks notes* Was it really just June?! Those are some pretty big shoes to fill, but I think the team is up to the challenge! For 2020, we want to further build on this momentum and we have been working on a list of content ranging from quality of life updates to brand new content. For the next 11 months, we want to hit a cadence of updates that will improve the game in general from optimisation to new factions. But first and foremost, I would like to focus on tying a lot of loose ends that are currently still happening in the game and are impeding your gameplay experience. These are crashes, performance, gameplay issues, and other Quality of Life improvements that need to be done. Looking forward to this year, I can assure you we will do our very best to make Squad the greatest Tactical FPS game of 2020. (And for many years to come.) To support this vision, we want to introduce: New theatres of war. New factions. New tools for Events and Competitions Enhance the modding support from which Squad is built upon. Boost an already thriving community so that it can continue cross-pollinating content. Improve our game modes and tweak and balance our content, all the while listening to your feedback. While we want to deliver all this at a level of excellence that squaddies expect for such a quality title, it will take time to achieve. We will do our best to be as transparent as possible and we appreciate your patience while we work on these throughout the year. As YOUR involvement which is one of the main reasons why Squad is so incredible, we’re going to continue to focus on developing events, competitions, and modding support. Our goal is to continue to grow that involvement and we want to create more tools to support these endeavors. On that note, we applaud the tremendous events and leagues like the Squad Community Cup, Squad World Championships, Here Come The Girls, and Squad Charity League for giving so much back to the community with the game they love! Finally, it is a real honor to be part of such a group. In my 16 years of experience in this industry, Squad is literally the best community far and wide. I have met the kindest players on the Squad servers, welcoming newbs and willing to educate each other on the depths of gameplay. We will make sure that Squad keeps delivering the expected quality content for your enjoyment. See you on the battlefield, squaddies. Dismissed. A.L. OFFWORLD OUT.
  8. Hey, squaddies! January’s nearly in the bag, but that doesn’t mean we can’t keep having a blast! We’ve got a special shoutout this week: Royal Battalion is hosting Here Come The Girls to benefit the World Wildlife Fund! Charity: it does a squaddie good. JANUARY 30 5:30 PM PT (0130 UTC, 24/1) Squad Ops: Operation Broken Crossbow JANUARY 31 5:30 PM PT (0130 UTC, 25/1) Squad Ops: Regular Event FEBRUARY 1 ALL DAY Official Squad Showdown Signups Open 11:00 AM PT (1900 UTC) [RIP] Rusty in Places vs. The World 11:30 AM PT (1930 UTC) Squad Ops: Crazy Horse 2:30 PM PT (2230 UTC) Squad Ops: SOTT Basic FEBRUARY 2 11:00 AM PT (1900 UTC) Here Come the Girls: Benefiting the WWF Something about today seems familiar… Was that a rodent?! SIGNOFF See you in February, folks! Enjoy The Big Game and/or massive snacking, elsewise beware of shadows. Would you like to see your event here? Let us know. OFFWORLD OUT.
  9. Glue Factory Gaming

    Welcome (back) to the party! Looking forward to seeing you folks kick some ass. =)
  10. Microphone non-functional

    If you haven't yet, I would encourage you to reach out to support@joinsquad.com -- they should be able to dig into the issue more thorough. Sorry for the inconvenience!
  11. Checking in to letcha know we're reading along and very interested to hear more thoughts. Commander is still a pretty new feature, so hearing about your live experiences now that folks have settled back into the meta with it is very informative. Thank you folks a lot!
  12. Day/Night cycle ?

    Definitely still experimental, but obviously really cool. I think it's the sort of thing that we'll continue to see develop where map/server/client performance allows. (We'll hit a 1.0 release, but we're never going to be done experimenting. 'Cause, well, we love Squad too.)
  13. The Wrench, January 2020

    Yup! Looking forward to it too, especially because whitelisting allows the mod team to more directly stay on top of their content. (Now to get some of those filter bugs fixed...)
  14. Helicopter / Armor issue

    Hey folks, We're having some discussions about the relative tankiness of choppers internally too, so appreciate the active discussion here as well. We should be polishing off some of the component behavior that'll impact things as well. Mostly, they're not in a finished state yet, so we can keep tweaking. Keep postin'!
  15. Game lagging/stopping randomly

    MSI Afterburner has been known to cause some crashes and freezes, so it may be worth trying to disable that: https://offworldindustries.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/115003976534-Possible-Causes-for-Crashes It's also worth trying clearing your cache and/or verifying your game files in Steam. https://offworldindustries.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/115002768887-How-to-manually-clear-your-user-settings-cache You can also hit up our support team for further assistance at support@joinsquad.com.
×